PHMB Foam Dressing Safety and Efficacy: The Complete Guide to ISO 10993 Endpoints, Antimicrobial Test Methods, and Claim Substantiation

Table of Contents

A PHMB antimicrobial foam wound dressing with its ISO 10993 biocompatibility test documentation and regulatory compliance evidence pack.

A PHMB foam dressing is a wound dressing whose foam contains polyhexamethylene biguanide (PHMB, also called polihexanide), an antimicrobial substance. Evaluating its safety and efficacy is a documentation exercise: the unit of analysis is the test report, not the product. This guide answers what a given document actually proves and which claim it can support, because a certificate of ISO 13485 certification, a summary statement of “biocompatibility tested”, and a 510(k) clearance number each prove something different. Two boundaries apply throughout. Bench and in-vitro data do not establish clinical outcomes, and a PHMB foam device is generally not cleared to treat an established wound infection. The framework below is current as of the ISO 10993-1 sixth edition (2025-11), which FDA partially recognized on 2026-05-25 under recognition number 2-313 (FDA’s recognition entry for ISO 10993-1:2025, retrieved 2026-06-10).

Key Takeaways

  • “Safety and efficacy” in a procurement file is a set of traceable claims, not a status: each claim must map to a named endpoint, method, and acceptance criterion.

  • FDA categorizes a dressing on breached or compromised skin as a surface device, and contact duration (limited ≤24 h, prolonged >24 h to 30 days, long-term >30 days) determines which endpoints apply (FDA endpoint matrix, 2023-05-09).

  • The European standard EN 17854:2024 sets a 3-log₁₀ reduction at 24 hours for a microbicidal claim, while the example criterion FDA presented to its advisory panel was at least 4-log reduction via a modified AATCC 100 method.

  • ISO 10993-1 sixth edition (2025-11) is the current standard; FDA accepts declarations of conformity to the 2018 fifth edition only through 2029-07-01.

  • A PHMB foam dressing is cleared as a device under product code FRO, not approved as an anti-infective drug, and its permissible claims act within the dressing.

What PHMB Foam Dressing Safety and Efficacy Means in a Procurement File

In a procurement file, PHMB foam dressing safety and efficacy means the set of claims a supplier can trace to a named test, a named method, and a named acceptance criterion. It is not a status conferred by a certificate. FDA’s framing of antimicrobial claims as acting within the dressing is the anchor: permissible claims describe limiting microbial growth, colonization, or contamination inside the dressing, or limiting microbial penetration through it (FDA classification material on wound dressings combined with drugs, 2016). A claim that the dressing treats an established infection sits outside that frame.

The device-versus-drug boundary for PHMB dressings turns on the primary mode of action. PHMB dressings have been cleared as device submissions under product code FRO (“dressing, wound, drug”) rather than approved as anti-infective drugs (FDA product classification record for FRO, database, 2026). That distinction matters to a distributor because a device clearance carries device obligations, not pharmaceutical ones.

Product code FRO’s unclassified, pre-amendment status is the third fact a procurement reader needs. FRO is reviewed by the General & Plastic Surgery panel, follows the 510(k) route, and is not implant and not GMP-exempt (FDA product classification record for FRO, database, 2026). A clearance number under FRO therefore tells you the device was found substantially equivalent, not that its antimicrobial performance was independently validated to a fixed threshold.

Key Takeaway A PHMB foam dressing’s “safety and efficacy” is a claim-by-claim documentation question. The device is cleared under product code FRO as a device, its permissible claims act within the dressing, and no certificate substitutes for the test report behind a specific claim.

Why PHMB Foam Dressing Safety and Efficacy Claims Fail Documentation Review

That claim-by-claim framing explains why wound dressing claim substantiation fails documentation review for four recurring reasons: the claim outruns the method, the concentration does not match the claim, the contact-duration category is unstated, and the evidence is a certificate rather than a test report. Cleared submissions show how differently the same substance is documented. A cleared PHMB foam dressing stating 7-day protection within the dressing lists 0.8–1.1 %w/w PHMB in the absorbent polyurethane foam and states no log value at all (510(k) K190819, cleared 2020). A clearance reporting ≥4-log reduction with a modified AATCC 100 method lists 0.2 % w/w PHMB in the absorbent pad and the same 7-day duration (510(k) K221532, 2023-01-30).

The concentration spread is the first failure mode. K190819’s foam is 0.8–1.1 %w/w PHMB, K192463’s foam is about 0.5% (w/w), and K221532’s pad is 0.2% (w/w), yet all three claim the same 7-day antibacterial duration. Concentration does not track the claim, so a buyer cannot infer performance from a percentage on a spec sheet.

The second failure mode is the missing duration category. A 7-day PHMB foam dressing was evaluated as a prolonged-contact device, “breached or compromised surfaces with prolonged contact (>24 h to 30 d)” (510(k) K192463, 2020-05-14). A PHMB foam dressing cleared for temporary management of under 24 hours was categorized as a limited-contact device instead (510(k) K163062, cleared 2016; record reproduced). Two PHMB foams, two biological evaluations, because the intended wear time differs.

The third failure mode is the raw-material-versus-finished-product gap. A supplier’s certificate may cover the foam or the raw material, while the antimicrobial claim rests on finished, clinically conditioned dressing testing. how silicone foam dressings are made and what to verify in the process

How ISO 10993 Endpoint Selection Works for a PHMB Foam Dressing

Because the duration category drives the file, ISO 10993 biocompatibility testing for wound dressings is endpoint selection, not a single test. FDA’s endpoint matrix for a dressing on breached or compromised skin classifies it as a surface device and sets contact duration as limited (≤24 h), prolonged (>24 h to 30 days), or long-term (>30 days) (FDA endpoint matrix, 2023-05-09). The duration category determines which endpoints the file must address.

For a prolonged-contact dressing, FDA lists cytotoxicity, sensitization, irritation/intracutaneous reactivity, acute systemic toxicity, material-mediated pyrogenicity, subacute/subchronic toxicity, and implantation (FDA endpoint matrix, 2023-05-09). A limited-contact dressing (≤24 h) on breached skin drops subchronic toxicity and implantation from the list. A long-term dressing (>30 days) adds subacute/subchronic toxicity, genotoxicity, implantation, chronic toxicity, and carcinogenicity.

The endpoints are to be addressed, not automatically tested. Existing data, chemical characterization, literature, or testing may satisfy an endpoint, which is why two PHMB foams with the same substance can carry different biological files. A 7-day PHMB foam dressing evaluated as a prolonged-contact device documents that categorization explicitly (510(k) K192463, 2020-05-14), while a PHMB foam dressing cleared for temporary management of under 24 hours documents a limited-contact category instead (510(k) K163062, cleared 2016; record reproduced).

Every patient-contacting layer enters the biological evaluation, not just the antimicrobial foam. A multi-layer construction adds a wound contact layer, a backing film, and adhesives to the material list, and each is a potential source of extractables. how a multi-layer foam construction manages exudate

What Each ISO 10993 Part Actually Covers

Once the endpoints are set, the part numbers matter, because ISO 10993 biocompatibility testing for wound dressings is a family of parts, and a report that names only the family is a report to send back. ISO 10993-5’s cytotoxicity endpoint is in-vitro cell viability and morphology of cultured mammalian cells, not a general proof of biocompatibility (ISO 10993-5:2009 catalogue entry, 2009 edition). A supplier citing “ISO 10993-5 passed” has proven one endpoint.

The part numbers in the ISO 10993 family carry distinct scopes. In current editions, irritation is addressed primarily by ISO 10993-23, while Part 10 focuses on skin sensitization; Part 11 covers systemic toxicity; Part 12 governs sample preparation and extraction conditions, which is not a biological endpoint at all (ISO catalogue entries for ISO 10993-10:2021, -23:2021, -11:2017, -12:2021, 2021). A file that lists “10993-10” for irritation is citing a superseded scope.

Chemical characterization and toxicological risk assessment sit in a different part. ISO 10993-17’s toxicological risk assessment of leachables reframes the old “tolerable intake” concept as an assessment of device constituents, including extractables and leachables (ISO 10993-17:2023 catalogue entry, 2023-09-13). For a PHMB foam, that is where the antimicrobial substance’s extractable profile is addressed, not in the cytotoxicity report.

What to demand follows from the scopes. Ask for the part number, the edition year, the extraction vehicle, and the cell line or model, because a report that names the part and edition can be checked against the standard, and a report that names only “ISO 10993” cannot.

Key Takeaway Name the part, the edition, and the endpoint. ISO 10993-5 is cytotoxicity only; irritation now sits in Part 23; Part 12 is sample preparation, not an endpoint; Part 17 is toxicological risk assessment of leachables.

The Edition Transition That Dates Every Existing Biocompatibility File

Naming the edition is not a formality, because PHMB dressing regulatory compliance now turns on an edition transition. ISO 10993-1 sixth edition 2025-11 is currently the standard; FDA recognized it on 2026-05-25 under recognition number 2-313, and accepts declarations of conformity to the 2018 fifth edition through 2029-07-01 (FDA’s recognition entry for ISO 10993-1:2025, retrieved 2026-06-10). After that date, declarations to the fifth edition will not be accepted.

The sixth edition reorganizes biological evaluation around ISO 14971 risk management, defines exposure duration more explicitly (including cumulative exposure across reuses of reusable devices), reworks device categorization to contact type, and expands genotoxicity and carcinogenicity requirements (FDA recognition entry 2-313, 2026-05-25). FDA did not recognize clause 6.9 (biological risk estimation), and it flagged that the added genotoxicity requirements in Tables 2, 3, 4 and clause 6.5.7 may not align with Table A.1 of its September 2023 guidance for all prolonged-contact devices.

The practical consequence for a distributor is that a biocompatibility file built on the 2018 edition has a dated expiry. The cleared PHMB summaries cite “10993-1” without naming an edition (510(k) K190819, 510(k) K192463, 510(k) K221532), so a buyer cannot tell from the summary alone which edition the file rests on. Ask the supplier to name the edition and the declaration date.

Antimicrobial Test Methods and What Each One Can Prove

The edition dates the biological file; the method name dates the performance claim, because antimicrobial test methods for wound dressings answer different questions, and the method name determines what a result can support. The EN 17854:2024 microbicidal threshold is at least a 3-log₁₀ reduction after a mandatory 24-hour exposure against each of Staphylococcus aureus, Pseudomonas aeruginosa and Candida albicans; a microbistatic claim requires at least 0-log, meaning no further growth (EN 17854:2024, Antimicrobial wound dressings, 2024-03-19; requirement paraphrased, standard is paywalled).

The 4-log example criterion FDA presented to its advisory panel is a different bar. The 2016 panel material presents a modified AATCC 100 method on finished, clinically conditioned dressings with a proposed acceptance criterion of at least 4-log reduction versus a non-antimicrobial control (FDA panel presentation, September 20–21, 2016, 2016). The panel criterion and the cleared-test practice can be read together: K221532 reports ≥4-log reduction using a modified AATCC 100 method against four gram-positive and four gram-negative organisms (510(k) K221532, 2023-01-30).

The two thresholds are not interchangeable. EN 17854:2024 sets 3-log at 24 hours; the FDA panel example sets 4-log. A supplier claiming “4-log” without naming the method and the exposure time has not told you which bar was met. Ask for the method name, the exposure time, the challenge organisms, and the control.

Reading a Cleared PHMB Foam Submission Without Overreading It

With the method and threshold in hand, reading a cleared PHMB foam submission without overreading it means separating what the clearance states from what it does not. K190819 states the PHMB “prevents colonization and proliferation of bacteria within the dressing for up to 7 days” and lists 0.8–1.1 %w/w PHMB, with no log value (510(k) K190819, cleared 2020). The “within the dressing” wording is the boundary: it is not a claim about the wound bed.

The predicate chain is the second thing to read carefully. K221532’s ≥4-log value sits in its substantial-equivalence comparison, and its primary predicate is K192463, which attributes “>4 log” to its own predicate rather than to the subject device (510(k) K221532, 2023-01-30; 510(k) K192463, 2020-05-14). A number that propagates by predicate chaining is one evidence stream, not independent corroboration.

The third thing to read is the clinical-evidence statement. K192463 and K221532 both state that no clinical study is included in the submission (510(k) K192463, 510(k) K221532), and K190819’s summary lists only in-vitro and animal testing (510(k) K190819). A clearance is not clinical evidence of wound-healing outcomes.

The fourth thing to read is the contact-duration category, which is stated for K192463 (prolonged) and K163062 (limited) but not for K221532 or K190819’s silicone foam. Where the summary is silent, the buyer cannot assert a duration class. clinical guide to hydrocolloid, foam and alginate selection

From Test Report to Label Claim: The Traceability Chain

Reading a submission this way is one link in a larger structure, because wound dressing claim substantiation is a traceability chain: label claim, to test method, to acceptance criterion, to test report, to the specific device configuration tested. Break any link and the claim is unsupported. The chain starts with the claim category, because FDA frames permissible antimicrobial-dressing claims as acting within the product, limiting microbial growth or penetration, and not as treatment for an established wound infection (FDA classification material, 2016).

The second link is the method-to-claim match. A microbicidal claim needs a log-reduction result; a microbistatic claim needs a no-further-growth result; a barrier claim needs a penetration test. EN 17854:2024 separates microbicidal (3-log at 24 h) from microbistatic (0-log) claims (EN 17854:2024, 2024-03-19), so the claim wording and the method must be read together.

The third link is the configuration. A clearance can cover multiple variants with different sterilization methods and different wound-contact adhesives: K190819’s subject uses a silicone adhesive contact layer while its predicate uses acrylic, and the subject is ethylene-oxide sterilized while the predicate is gamma irradiated (510(k) K190819, cleared 2020). K192463 shows the same split within one clearance, with silicone variants EtO-sterilized and non-adhesive/adhesive foam variants irradiation-sterilized (510(k) K192463, 2020-05-14). The test report must name the configuration that will ship.

The fourth link is the indication wording, which is not identical across clearances. K190819 and K192463 say “1st and 2nd degree burns,” while K221532 narrows this to “first and superficial second degree burns” and adds a separate OTC indication set (510(k) K190819, 510(k) K192463, 510(k) K221532). A label claim copied from one clearance may not match another.

The Quality-System and Regulatory Layer Above the Test Reports

Above the traceability chain sits the quality-system layer, where ISO 13485 certification, EU QMS certification, and CE conformity are often conflated. ISO 13485 certification alone does not confer CE conformity; sterile Class I and Class IIa and above require notified-body involvement (MDCG 2019-11 guidance, 2019). A certificate is evidence of a quality system, not of a test result or a conformity assessment.

A wound dressing’s MDR classification follows its intended purpose and Annex VIII, Rule 4 for injured skin or mucous membranes. A basic protective dressing can be Class I, while dressings managing breached skin or going beyond a limited barrier function can be Class IIa or IIb (MDCG 2019-11 guidance, 2019). The classification drives which conformity-assessment route applies.

The regulatory layer also carries a live proposal. FDA’s proposed reclassification of antimicrobial wound dressings (Docket FDA-2023-N-3392, 88 FR 83774, published 2023-11-30) would split them: Class III with PMA for dressings containing medically important antimicrobials (high AMR concern), and Class II with 510(k) plus special controls for medium- or low-AMR-concern antimicrobials (FDA proposed rule, Federal Register, 2023-11-30). Under the proposal the PMA would generally be due by the last day of the 30th calendar month after the month in which the Class III classification took effect, and finalization would move products into new product codes rather than leaving FRO as the permanent code (FDA proposed rule, 2023-11-30). It remains a proposal; check the docket for status.

What to demand at this layer: the certificate scope wording, the standard edition certified, the notified-body number, and the declaration of conformity’s standards annex. how to qualify an ISO 13485 manufacturer

Auditing a Supplier Evidence Pack: A Worked Example

Auditing a supplier evidence pack means checking each document against the claim it is meant to support, and a complete pack shows the layers distinctly. An illustrative pack for a PHMB foam dressing contains a quality-system certificate whose scope names the product families and the standard edition, an EU QMS certificate issued under MDR Annex IX Chapter I, a Declaration of Conformity stating the classification and the conformity-assessment procedure, and a standards annex listing the ISO 10993 parts applied. The ISO 13485 certificate scope wording matters: a scope that names “Sterile Foam Dressing” under production and distribution is broader than one naming only design and development categories, and the buyer should read which activities are covered.

The first audit step is to separate the certificate from the test evidence. A quality-system certificate proves the manufacturer operates a certified system; it does not state a log-reduction value or an acceptance criterion. The second step is to check the Declaration of Conformity’s standards annex against the claim: if the annex lists ISO 10993-1, -5, -10, -11 and -23, the file addresses cytotoxicity, sensitization, irritation, and systemic toxicity, but the annex alone does not state the results.

The third step is to check the classification stated in the Declaration of Conformity against the intended purpose. A dressing stated as Class IIb, Rule 4, assessed under Annex IX, carries a different evidence expectation than a Class I basic dressing. The fourth step is to confirm the notified-body number and the certificate validity dates, because an expired certificate breaks the chain regardless of the test results.

The fifth step is to request the underlying test reports, not the summary. Ask for the part number, edition, extraction vehicle, method name, exposure time, challenge organisms, control, and the specific configuration tested. A pack that answers all five is defensible in a tender; a pack that answers only the first is a certificate, not evidence.

Next Steps

The next step is to convert this framework into a request list you can send to any PHMB foam supplier. Ask for five documents: the ISO 10993-1 edition and declaration date; the endpoint-by-endpoint biological evaluation with part numbers and editions; the antimicrobial test report naming the method, exposure time, challenge organisms, and control; the contact-duration categorization for the specific configuration; and the quality-system certificate scope with validity dates. Each maps to a section above, so a missing document points to a specific gap.

Two checks belong on the list regardless of what the supplier provides. First, confirm whether the biocompatibility file rests on the 2018 or 2025 edition, because the 2018 declarations are accepted only through 2029-07-01 (FDA recognition entry 2-313, 2026-05-25). Second, confirm the antimicrobial claim wording against FDA’s within-the-dressing frame, because a claim that reads as infection treatment is outside the cleared boundary (FDA classification material, 2016).

A medium-commitment action completes the loop: request the specification sheet, the instructions for use, the certifications pack, and a sampling plan from the supplier, and run the five-document check against them before adding the product to a tender or formulary. The check is repeatable across suppliers, which is what makes it useful for a procurement file that must survive a regulatory affairs review.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a PHMB foam dressing?

A PHMB foam dressing is a wound dressing whose foam carries polyhexamethylene biguanide, an antimicrobial agent that acts on the dressing itself rather than on the patient. That distinction decides the regulatory route: the dressing is regulated as a device, not as a drug.

Is a PHMB foam dressing a drug or a device?

It is a device. Because its primary mode of action is physical and antimicrobial within the dressing rather than pharmacological activity in the body, it is cleared through the 510(k) route under product code FRO rather than approved as an anti-infective drug (FDA product classification record for FRO, database, 2026).

Can a PHMB foam dressing be claimed to treat a wound infection?

No. Cleared antimicrobial-dressing claims stay inside the product: limiting microbial growth, colonization, or contamination within the dressing, or limiting microbial penetration through it. Treatment of an established wound infection sits outside that cleared space, so wound dressing claim substantiation should never be built on an infection-treatment statement (FDA classification material, 2016).

Is 4-log reduction the FDA requirement for an antimicrobial dressing?

No. The 4-log figure is the example criterion FDA put before its advisory panel, using a modified AATCC 100 method on finished, clinically conditioned dressings, not a universal minimum (FDA panel presentation, 2016). Antimicrobial test methods for wound dressings set different bars: EN 17854:2024 uses a 3-log₁₀ reduction at 24 hours for a microbicidal claim (EN 17854:2024, 2024-03-19). Ask which method, which exposure time, and which acceptance criterion the report applied.

How long does ISO 10993 biocompatibility testing take, and what drives the test list?

Contact duration and contact type drive the endpoint list, not the product category. A dressing on breached or compromised skin is a surface device, and its duration category (limited, up to 24 hours; prolonged, over 24 hours to 30 days; long-term, beyond 30 days) determines how many endpoints ISO 10993 biocompatibility testing for wound dressings must cover (FDA’s endpoint matrix for a dressing on breached or compromised skin, 2016). A 7-day wear claim therefore pulls the file into the prolonged-contact column.

Does PHMB cause antimicrobial resistance?

Acquired resistance is described as unlikely rather than impossible. PHMB attacks microbial membranes through a nonspecific cationic mechanism, which makes a single-point resistance mutation hard to select for, but the same source notes that its cytotoxicity to mammalian cells is concentration- and time-dependent (the PHMB-specific safety caveat on resistance and cytotoxicity, 2018). Write “resistance unlikely” and keep the hedge.

What should a distributor request from a PHMB foam supplier before a tender?

Request the complete evidence pack, not a compliance statement. That means the test report set with named ISO 10993 parts and editions, the acceptance criterion applied, the test article identity, the organism panel, the contact time, the IFU, and the exact scope wording on the quality-system certificate. A supplier who can produce all seven items has a file a regulatory contact can review; one who offers only a certificate has not yet shown that the claims on the label are traceable to the data behind them.

Conclusion

PHMB foam dressing safety and efficacy is a documentation question with a repeatable answer: name the endpoint, the part, the edition, the method, the acceptance criterion, and the configuration, and check each against the claim it supports. The evidence shows that concentration does not track the claim across cleared submissions, that the 4-log and 3-log thresholds come from different frameworks, and that the ISO 10993-1 edition transition dates every existing file. The boundary holds throughout: bench and in-vitro data do not establish clinical outcomes, and a PHMB foam device is generally not cleared to treat an established wound infection. The next step is the five-document request list, run against each supplier before the product enters a tender or formulary.

Picture of slkmedicaladmin

slkmedicaladmin

Product Categories
Latest News
Get A Free Quote Now !
Contact Form Demo (#3)

Related News

Related Products

Scroll to Top

Get A Free Quote Now !

Contact Form Demo (#3)
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.
popup